This or that position?

techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have 2 positions I can choose from and seeing if other techies here can help me decide. They both offer roughly the same pay and benefits except mentioned below. I am coming from a SMB JOAT career which I do enjoy but looking for more stability in my career (tired of fixing then getting let go). I really like Linux but have no devops experience and not sure I want any. I also really like VMware but I can see it being phased out with cloud which I have some experience with but not that excited for it. Here are the positions:

Job 1:
Established (100 employees) private healthcare software company that was recently acquired by a fortune 200
Using old technology but want to move to newer tech, no direction decided, likely cloud
No devops but want to implement it
Although a substantial IT group this is basically a JOAT architecture role
Lots of fires to put out currently
40 minute morning commute, 60 minute evening commute
very little telecommuting

Job 2:
Established private company (500 employees) that works with governments
Current technology, they mainly need to fill a windows hole
Devops is implemented and have experienced staff
Seems like systems are running well
20 minute morning commute, 40 minute evening commute
can work from home 3 days a week with a potential of 5 days a week at times

The way I look at it is job 1 offers more of a challenge and the recent acquisition is interesting, job 2 is more of I know what I'm getting into and better work/life balance. As someone who is mid career coming from a startup that offered no challenges and who doesn't know if they want to deal with devops which position would you lean towards?
2018 AWS Solutions Architect - Associate (Apr) 2017 VCAP6-DCV Deploy (Oct) 2016 Storage+ (Jan)