Options

Thinking of changing major's at WGU looking for input

boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I am currently in my second year at WGU in the networking and security degree plan getting ready to finish up my CCNA in about 4-6 weeks.

I have been thinking about changing my major to software and applications development from networking and security. From my location there is a lot more opportunity in devop's than networking and security.

How many of you experience the same in your location and do you think there's more opportunity in Java and SQL than networking and security??

*****Let me also point out that I already know people will say you should do what your passionate about and let me clear this up ahead of time because that really doesn't help anybody. *****

I have bills to pay and I am not going to spend my time devoted to a skill set that's not going to pay those bills. So although I know where you are coming from with that position IT DOESN'T HELP.

Thank you.
Currently enrolling into WGU's IT - Security Program. Working on LPIC (1,2,3) and CCNA (and S) as long term goals and preparing for the Security+ and A+ as short term goals.

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    *****Let me also point out that I already know people will say you should do what your passionate about and let me clear this up ahead of time because that really doesn't help anybody. *****

I have bills to pay and I am not going to spend my time devoted to a skill set that's not going to pay those bills. So although I know where you are coming from with that position IT DOESN'T HELP.