Options

help setting up cisco lab

vicbersongvicbersong Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guyz, im presently studying for my ccna. i want to set up a lab at home and would rally need an idea of what and waht i need to buy having considerable cost and of course efficincy in mind. is it possible to spend just a little bit above 100 pounds for all i need, including routers and switches...pls guyz i'll need ur views thank you! oh and please where can i get the lab kits. tnx

Comments

• Options
    twiggy87twiggy87 Inactive Imported Users Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Ebay.co.uk!!

I bought mine on ebay, cost me about +/- £300 for my setup which is:

2 x 2500
    2 x 1600
    2 x 1900
    ISDN simulator

Thats excluding cables, postage and transceivers. I'd say £100's a bit low for a lab purchase but it really depends what you want in your lab. I bought mine whilst on a visit to the uk and I can honestly say that the labs are so much cheaper your side, so dont hesitate, it's money very well spent icon_smile.gif

Good luck
    If my answers frighten you then you should cease asking scary questions.
  • Options
    chinamanchinaman Inactive Imported Users Posts: 167
    Ma, Can they deliver to midlle east I am in Qatar near dubai Iwant to purchase
  • Options
    qsubqsub Member Posts: 303
    Sorry to steal the thread but,

Just a quick question, how do you manage to connect the 2501 routers to a lan interface?

I have one 2501 and another 2501 + 20port hub built in?

The hub one is pretty straight forward, but what about the regular 2501 ? What interface do I use? Is there a serial -> ethernet cable?
    World Cup 2006 - Zidane - Never Forget.
  • Options
    TheShadowTheShadow Member Posts: 1,057 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Never seen a 2501 with a 20 port hub built in must be old. I have seen the following, 8 (Cisco 2505), 14 (Cisco 2516), or 16 (Cisco 2507) Ethernet 10BaseT hub ports built in. My rack has a pair of 2516's hooked to a ISDN simulator.