Options

How did you get into IT?

2»

Comments

• Options
    Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Navy recruiter said "You're probably good with computers aren't ya" in a thick Boston accent, then I signed a bunch of papers.
    Working on: CCNP Switch
  • Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,565 Mod
    I did a 5 years long degree in electrical & computer engineering fresh out of high school like an idiot, wish I'd done something else
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    Not sure about UK, but in Australia, there is something called "grad program", where people fresh out of uni can apply, and they spend a year in rotation in different departments in the company, and by the end of it they get job. It's a great way to give fresh grads a paid experience and a job guarantee by the end of it

paul78 wrote: »
    I'm curious about the various folks that mentioned IT apprenticeships. I wasn't familiar with it and from what I've read around so far - it looks like a great concept for people to start. Is this a common method in the UK? And are there other folks here in other countries that started in IT through apprenticeships? The apprenticeship model looks to be a lot more structured than the internship concepts in the US.

This has been an interesting thread to read.

• Options
    Domm362 wrote: »
    I went to college for music education and after student teaching and subbing for a couple of years I realized that I really didn't like it at all...

Did you work at Equifax??

• Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    UnixGuy wrote: »
    Did you work at Equifax??

I think they only have bachelors, not a masters. Only way you can qualify for CISO
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□