Options

How hard is the a+ exam??

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

ive read several people in the forum have mixed feedback over the a+ exams. i am currently studying for my a+ hardware and i wanted a broader view of feedback. Basically i want to know if its all one liner questions with multi choice answers or do they always ( or the majority of the time) put u in a situational scenario?

i am eager to take and pass the exam its just i want a better understanding of the actual exam as i dont want to have to pull out £105 extra for a resit!

any feedback will be appreciated!
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• Options
    sharptechsharptech Member Posts: 492 ■■□□□□□□□□
    It depends on how much experience you have had in the field. More experience will be A HUGE factor in how well you understand everything.

I had 5+ years experience and used the Meyers all in one book w/ practice tests and was no problem...

How much experience do you have in the field?
  • Options
    nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    i have been working in IT for nearly four years and have been working in desktop support, sys admin tasks etc, hands on hardware replacement. The only problem is that i havent had the theory background to support that knowledge. it was simply gained via hands on experiance and not from a book.

so is the a + exams all scenaria situations or is it a mixture of small sentences and scenarios? its just because i have using the preplogic exam practise and it crams the scenario situations in 90% of the time! i have been scoring an av. of 75%ish but i feel i could do better if the wording was better presented.

how did you find the exam? also i have noticed some people have stated the exam was over 70 questions and not 70 like stated via compTIA? is this true?
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • Options