Options

Just beginning

atday08atday08 Member Posts: 5 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all!

I am just beginning my studies for the compTIA A+. My goal is to have the exams done and passed by September.

I decided that after applying a few times for entry level positions over the years and not getting the job I needed to do something to give myself a better chance.

From everything that I have read A+ is the best way to get my foot in the door and get the job experience people want. Ultimately I think that I want to get into networking, this is where I get a little lost.

What is the best path for me to take to get from where I am now, working in a local credit union, to where I want to be which is in IT?

I appreciate any help and look forward to being a part of this community!

Comments

• Options
    AvgITGeekAvgITGeek Member Posts: 342 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited February 2019
    Absolutely getting a certification at this level will help you get your foot in the door. What makes you think you want to get into networking? How much experience do you have with troubleshooting PCs or networks (even at home or for family and friends counts). That isn't a dig at you. Just that any experience is good experience.

Get that first position and then start studying for either Network+ (vendor neutral and a top level view of a lot of networking) or CCENT which is more in-depth but focused on Cisco gear. That isn't a bad thing at all as I've seen some of the same commands on HP switches but the theory is still the same. 

Oh and welcome to the TE family! Don't be afraid to ask questions around here. :)
  • Options
    Thanks AvgITGeek, I have minimal experience. I use google as a tool at this point and have done more things along the lines of swapping power supplies on friends PCs after diagnosing that as the issue, building my own computers, but other than that not a whole lot of experience.