CySA+ Study Guide - Getting Started

Thoth_DhwtyThoth_Dhwty Member Posts: 96 ■■■□□□□□□□

Hi again.

So I've decided to pursue the CySA+ and I am looking for best study materials before spending money blindly on stuff which might not be useful.
 I am going for the CySA+ mainly because my other 3 CompTIA certs will expire in June 2020 so I guess 1 year would be enough studying to eventually pass the exam and renew the other 3 certs. Also other reason for deciding to go for CySA+ is because since passing my Sec+ almost 2 years ago I've kinda drifted away from IT and I feel I got a bit rusty with it. Probably the knowledge is there just needs refreshing. (I hope anyway)

I've got no IT field experience. I work currently as a Data Admin but that barely involves any IT. I passed A+, Net+ and Sec+ through self study and just because of a personal passion for computer science. (And eventually the hope to actually get my IT career started someday soon)
 The way I found it easier for me to study for the other 3 certs was by first reading one Study Guide/Book cover to cover and take notes of the important stuff. I used the Study Guides hand in hand with the Objectives document. Once I've read through the book, I carried on doing plenty Practice Exams and practice within a Virtual Machine with commands and everything.

Would the above study style work with CySA+ as well? Or do I have to adapt to a different style?

Now that you know enough about me, what materials would you advice me to use? I see there's 2 books, All-In-One one and Cybex on. What are your recommendations? 
 Is there any practice exams and/or practice labs that come any close to the actual exam ?

Thanks for reading and hope to get some helpful hints.

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Udemy has a few good inexpensive video courses. Check em out.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux