Options

Out of 10 only 3 engineers are skilled so are you a proper skilled engineer ?

Vaidehivasava1Vaidehivasava1 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
edited December 2019 in Off-Topic
There is so much of unemployment at the same time there is so much vacany but there are no skilled labour why so?

Comments

• Options
    Vaidehivasava1Vaidehivasava1 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Yes I am a skilled engineer
  • Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Is there a link to an article or something?  Where did this come from?
  • Options
    Infosec_SamInfosec_Sam Admin Posts: 527 Admin
    Based on just this, I can most definitely tell that I am NOT a skilled engineer.

In all seriousness, I think the big reason why we see conflicting reports of job openings and job shortages in cybersecurity comes down to location and seniority. Most of the reports I've seen that talk about rampant job openings are in the Washington DC area, and they're almost always talking about senior-level security positions. The reason these jobs stay vacant is because those employers can't find someone with the skills/experience necessary to fill the role.

To a lesser degree, I've also heard of cybersecurity unemployment in certain cases. This normally comes from areas that are not tech hubs, where security jobs in general are a little more scarce, and the ones that do exist are mostly entry-level SOC stuff. These cybersecurity jobs are mainly located around tech hubs, so it's going to be much easier to find a job in Silicon Valley and the DC area than somewhere like Nashville, Tennessee. I'm not saying you're completely SOL if you live in Nashville, but you're going to have to work a little harder to land a job in cybersecurity.
    Community Manager at Infosec!
    Who we are | What we do
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited December 2019
    There is so much of unemployment