Options

Which exam before oscp to help getting into flow

mirror51mirror51 Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□
Is there any exam which is  similar to oscp but very easier so that i can first give that exam to get an idea about pentensting and all stages.
I am very new to pentesting and first want to get understanding by preparing for  easy exam. Exam hs to have labs  etc not just theory and report writing as well to pass

Any idea ?

Comments

• Options
    tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    eLearnSecurity Junior Penetration Tester. If you're new to penetration testing, I'd recommend not going straight into OSCP.
  • Options
    Info_Sec_WannabeInfo_Sec_Wannabe Member Posts: 428 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It is not an exam, but I suggest you look at TryHackMe or HTB so you can get some hands-on experience first and better appreciate the theory that comes with those exams.
    X year plan: (20XX) OSCP [ ], CCSP [ ]
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    In addition to practicing on HackTheBox, ,TryHackMe, and VulnHub, look into bug bounty programs, such as HackerOne, to find real-world targets for practice. Find blog reviews of pentesting exams and Google pentesting framework and start reading.
  • Options
    shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□

mirror51 said:
    Is there any exam which is  similar to oscp but very easier so that i can first give that exam to get an idea about pentensting and all stages.
    I am very new to pentesting and first want to get understanding by preparing for  easy exam. Exam hs to have labs  etc not just theory and report writing as well to pass

Any idea ?