Any chance for me on Upwork?

Connor2kwikConnor2kwik Member Posts: 43 ■■■□□□□□□□

I have no job or no work experience. A few years ago I got arrested for a misdemeanor and even though I wasn't convicted and it was expunged I still think I won't be able to get a programmer job. At this point do I have a chance going on a website like Upwork or any other freelance website for that matter?

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    You won't know until your try, so give it a try and let us know how it went.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If your record was expunged, why have you already decided you just can't get a job in programming?
  • Info_Sec_WannabeInfo_Sec_Wannabe Member Posts: 428 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think what @JDMurray meant there is that it can go both ways. Even for experienced folks, it is not that easy to land a job especially given the pandemic. You won't know until you try. Give yourself a chance first. 
    X year plan: (20XX) OSCP [ ], CCSP [ ]
    It sounds like you don't want to be hired, otherwise you would be applying to open positions right now. Do you really need an encouraging pep-talk from a bunch of online strangers before trying to help yourself? As encouragement, I will say that "expunged" means there is nothing on your legal record for a prospective employer to see and reject you. If the problem is that you don't like any type of rejection at all, join the club with the rest of us who have been in many job interview and failed to get the job for one reason or another. That's how the employment game works. Don't play the game if you don't want to be hit. ;)
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Not convicted = no record.
    Apply to many jobs, interview to get rejected. Gain experience in rejection. Life experience and growing as a person is greater than any job.