Options

How To Move Out of Helpdesk

Moon ChildMoon Child Member Posts: 198 ■■■□□□□□□□
I been in helpdesk for 4 years and had a hard time getting promoted to a higher position. Bachelors in Information Systems. Also have a Master's. A+, N+, S+,  MCTS, MCP. I am studying CCNA and I am taking classes to get a 2nd Masters degree(MBA). Everytime a promotion opportunity comes by I am passed by and told I look good on paper and that's it. I have learned a lot on the job, but I don't think that is recognized. I also previously worked as a programmer. I have stayed though since I get raises and need the money. I am not complaining about the salary, actually very happy with the salary. I just wish I had a higher position. Regardless I am going get my CCNA anyway even if I stay in helpdesk. Even with two Masters Degee's and a CCNA if I am told I just look good on paper so be it. If I can't advance in a promotion I can earn more graduate degrees and more higher level certs.. but I would really like to advance somehow in my career. I thought about combining IT with another profession.

Any Advice?
... the world seems full of good men--even if there are monsters in it. - Bram Stoker, Dracula

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,034 Admin
    What is the "higher position" you are aiming for?
  • Options
    Like Jr Admin or Network entry level.