Options

obtainable Goals and acceptable losses, timeline goals

AxtonAxton Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited June 15 in General Certification
Without getting into a long Back Ground History, I can ramble on and on. 

Obtainable Goals

Currently, I am studying for my CompTIA Security + and CySA +.  Now, most of us know that Sec+ is "somewhat" of a requirement in the IT field, as it is expected to have.  The CySA+, not so much, more of Specialty Certification. 

As of Today, I have 6 weeks to study for the Sec+, since I am taking the SY0-601, that exam expires on July 31st. I have about 17 weeks to study for CySA+, CS0-003.  Now the Sec+, is a renewal and retake, failed back in Sept 2023, with a 641, if you can believe that.   I am taking the CySA+, only because I was provided with a Voucher, that expires in October. 

My plan is to study, exclusively spending 4 out of 7 days on Sec+ until July 31st, and spend 3 out of 7 days on CySA+ until July 31st, then focus on CySA+ entirely until October. 

Additional goals are to study for Microsoft Endpoint Admin Exam, and some other things,  along side.   Maybe a few hours a day or a day, (on the weekend) 

Acceptable Losses.   

I recently complete an IT school in Dec. 2023.  I have been applying for work, here and there, and only obtained just about 4 to 5 interviews.  I recently received a job offer, (which I accepted), from my previous employer, in Records Management. I worked Help Desk from 2010 to 2021 at that employer, but resigned due the Vaccine Mandate.  

6 month, 12 month and 18 month Goals

My plan at this point it to obtain both the Security Certs and MS endpoint Admin within 6 months and hopefully find a SysAdmin or Desktop Admin Position that will get me back into Information Technology and a higher Paying Job. 

12 month to 18 month plan