Options

APIPA

xcanucxcanuc Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a question about APIPA.

I am studying with the Microsoft Academic Course books and in 270 they say that if you have an APIPA address APIPA looks for a DHCP server every 5 minutes until it receives a DHCP address and then when it does it is fine. In 293 they say that if you have an APIPA address you must restart to get a DHCP address. I looked at Microsoft's web site and they say that you need to restart to get a DHCP assigned address also.

Does anyone have a difinitive answer on it?

Thanks in advance.
Steve

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I can't say I've read the oficial way it's supposed to work, but from what I've seen a reboot or ipconfig/renew will do it immediately, but waiting a few minutes (never timed it) will do it too.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    Danman32Danman32 Member Posts: 1,243
    I think I read on a practice exam or something that the DHCP client retries to get an address from a DHCP server.

It makes sense since when a normal DHCP address is received, the client will try and renew the lease half way through the lease. All that the DHCP client would need to do is pretend that the APIPA address was issued by a server, and has a lease of 10 minutes, in which case the renewal would be attempted in 5 minutes.
  • Options
    jpeezy55jpeezy55 Member Posts: 255
    I've had an exam question on this, and the correct answer to a question something like, "When you have an APIPA, what must you do to get an IP from the DHCP?" The answer was: Do Nothing. icon_rolleyes.gif

APIPA assigned addresses will automatically look for a DHCP every 5 minutes or so until it finds one. You can speed it up by using ipconfig /renew or by rebooting the client machine. But in all theory and more importantly, in the "World of Microsoft", do nothing.