Options

Thoughts on Credits

HHHTheGameHHHTheGame Member Posts: 75 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I see that you can get credits (and can also be audited) for furthering your security education. For those of you with your CISSP... have you done this for credits?

I am currently studying for the Cisco PIX exam. It asks for total hours of self-study and CBT. Well the CBT for 642-522 is 13 hours and to read the book it's probably about 15 hours. 28 hours total. I could get 56 when I pass this and the Cisco IPS exam. I'd only need 66 more for the next three years. Does this sound right?

Comments

• Options
    lopezcolopezco Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    HHHTheGame wrote:
    So I see that you can get credits (and can also be audited) for furthering your security education. For those of you with your CISSP... have you done this for credits?

I am currently studying for the Cisco PIX exam. It asks for total hours of self-study and CBT. Well the CBT for 642-522 is 13 hours and to read the book it's probably about 15 hours. 28 hours total. I could get 56 when I pass this and the Cisco IPS exam. I'd only need 66 more for the next three years. Does this sound right?

If you don't get those credits, you could lose your CISSP Certification?
    DAL
    "If you reveal your secrets to the wind, you should not blame the wind for revealing them to the trees." — Kahlil Gibran
  • Options
    keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Just submit your hours and they will be reviewed and either approved, dis-approved, or someone will send you an email asking for a little more info.

And to lopezco, yes you will lose your certification if you don't keep current with your CPE Units.
  • Options
    HHHTheGameHHHTheGame Member Posts: 75 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    seuss_ssuesseuss_ssues Member Posts: 629
    how can you have your CISSP and not know that you have to maintain it?
  • Options
    TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□