Options

My First Certification .. which track .. which cert ?

Gaz1983Gaz1983 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Gents

Am new to the form so please be gentle :D. I have been working as a Desktop Support analist for about a year. I have no prior knowledge of IT or Certifications. I have learnt alot during the last year. I feel i need to progress to the next level and to do so i need to get a few certifications.

Would like to get into security seems intresting and something i will enjoy doing.

I have looked at the CCNA. Intro book but nothing seems to sink in. i have tried very hard without any luck. Would be very helpful if you guys could share tips on how i should study what is the best way. Is it worth me doing in centre trainning only down side i dont have that sort of money at hand.

Or should i take another track like the comptia.

Hope you guys can help.

Comments

• Options
    Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    I think that starting with the A+, Network+ and Security+ should help you along your way.

After doing these 3 certifications you will probably have a better feel for what you want to concentrate most of your studies to.

That's just my thoughts on it.

I don't think you can really go wrong whcichever way you go.
  • Options
    Danman32Danman32 Member Posts: 1,243
    I concur. You need the basics of networking to get a handle of CCNA. Net+ would be great to get an intro to networking, and figure out if that's the direction to take.

Sec+ is a bit more advanced. Do that last if you do the Comptia series first.

Another avenue might be MSDST cert, which is tests 70-271 and 70-272.
  • Options
    Yeah think that might be the best path > do my network + then security then maybe a CCNA. My biggest set back is studying. nothing seems to sink in. is there a good way to learn, how do you guys study ? how many hours a day etc etc. any tips would be very useful .
    cheers for the replys
  • Options