Options

CCNA Self-study plan

RD28327RD28327 Member Posts: 79 ■■■□□□□□□□
Need some feeback on this idea since I am a newbie to Cisco .....

Am trying to come up w/a self-study plan for getting the CCNA. I'm not really against going to the local community college for classes, but, let's just say I'm trying to keep things as inexpensive as possible, and, I would like to learn at my own pace.

Did read the CCNA FAQ Sticky and viewed various other posts. Am leaning towards either the McQuerry or Odom books. I'm not sure which one is better. Seems like the McQuerry book is better suited for newbies though Odom will give you a better idea of what the exam is really all about. Also, I am interested in getting the Boson simulator. I know it's not the real deal, but it's certainly better than nothing at all. I may get a real Cisco router later (provided I have the finances of course).

May even "get a small taste of things to come" by getting the CCNA for Dummies book before I jump into the McQuerry and/or Odom books. Even ExamCram2 might help in test preparation. Believe it or not, Dummies and and ExamCram2 helped my get my Network+ cert.

Am open to any and all ideas. One major plus about going with classes at the local community college is sometimes getting my hands on Cisco equipment. If I go the community college route, I'll need to decide soon since registration and the beginning of the Fall semester are not too far away. icon_confused.gif:

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    RD28327 wrote: