Options

Getting started resources

I'm a windows systems admin looking to branch out into Linux. Both to improve my current position and beef up my skill set. With that said what are some good books to get started?

I'm currently experimenting with Ubuntu, but was wondering what are some of the more popular distros? What is the demand in the marketplace looking for? What books are good?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    My favorite book on Linux for a Windows admin is the one by Mark Minasi "Linux for Windows Administrators ".
    Amazon link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Administrators-Minasi-Administrator-Library/dp/0782141196/sr=1-11/qid=1158407770/ref=sr_1_11/103-3320541-1723808?ie=UTF8&s=books
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    SRTMCSESRTMCSE Member Posts: 249
    sprkymrk wrote:
    My favorite book on Linux for a Windows admin is the one by Mark Minasi "Linux for Windows Administrators ".
    Amazon link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Administrators-Minasi-Administrator-Library/dp/0782141196/sr=1-11/qid=1158407770/ref=sr_1_11/103-3320541-1723808?ie=UTF8&s=books

Haha, that would've been a simple amazon search. Thanks, I'll give it a look see!
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I recently passed my Linux+ using the TestOut Linux+ training course. The instructor in the videos is a hard-boiled Linux/Unix admin, but he is very much in favor of relating a lot of topics to "how you would do it in Windows". That's not to say he references everything this way, but he did a good job of helping me understand how a lot of topics related to what I already knew from my MCSA experience, as well as teaching everything in a very concise and clear manner.

http://www.testout.com/linuxplus/index.htm

Aside from that, I used the Sybex Linux+ book, and am currently reading O'Reilly's "LPIC In A Nutshell" book, both of which are excellent.