Options

VMware help please

Hey all...
Just one question.

Using Vmware which Network setting do I use to get my Xp vm to communicate with my win2k3?
I have the 2k3 on Nat but im not sure what the xp should be. I have tried all of them and I think im just missing one thing. icon_confused.gif

My home network is behind a linksys router.
Help me out please.

TIA

Cess
A+, MCP(270,290), CCNA 2008.
Working back on my CCNA and then possibly CCNP.

Comments

• Options
    CessationCessation Member Posts: 326
    Where are all the VMware users?
  • Options
    Gaztop1Gaztop1 Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hey Man i been using vmware a little bit i am no expert but what i think u need to do is change your ethernet settings to Bridged ... should link the Vmware Virtual ethernet adapter with your actual host operating systems adapter

hope that helped
  • Options
    Gaztop1 wrote:
    Hey Man i been using vmware a little bit i am no expert but what i think u need to do is change your ethernet settings to Bridged ... should link the Vmware Virtual ethernet adapter with your actual host operating systems adapter

hope that helped

Bridged for both virtual machines?
  • Options
    Gaztop1Gaztop1 Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No only bridged from the Ethernet adapter side on VMWARE the VMWARE app itself will do the rest... as you know it installs its own adapter so should automatically bridge the connections.

i have used it in lab environment and all we did was leave the host machine settings as they were and then setup bridged connection on VMWARE side, then ofcourse setup an IP address for your W2K3 OS, then u can use it to surf net or use it as another networked machine.
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you want the virtual machines to participate on your home network and not be separated, you can just use the bridged network for both VM's, let them get DHCP addresses from your linksys router.