Options

The Beast is just a pussy cat... 960 first go!

BeefchiefBeefchief Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've just arrived home from my 291 exam where I scored a 960, which was better than my 270 and 290 scores!

I used MS Self Paced Training Kit (Second Edition), CBT Nuggets, and Transender. I studied for about 4 months off and on and all of them were very helpful. I think the main difference between this exam and the others were the Transender practice exams - the first time I used them and definitely not the last!

I also had the Sybex book but I never used it. Too many extra facts to absorb and I thought it was a drier read than the MS book.

My advice is if the exam is going to be a tough one, don't skimp on study materials and set up a lab. If you're still confused about a topic, go to Technet - the MS book was a bit light on security so Technet helped me out with things like IPSec and Kerberos.

Just a note about the exam I sat: they have already updated the questions to test WSUS so make sure you know how it works. Also *there is only a basic calculator in the exam*! So know your subnet octet numbers and powers of two off the top of your head!

Comments

• Options
    eurotrasheurotrash Member Posts: 817
    Congrats! Nice score.
    witty comment
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Congratulations on the pass.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Congrats!
    "It doesn't matter, it's in the past!"--Rafiki
  • Options
    geekiegeekie Member Posts: 391
    Great score!! Congratz!
    Up Next : Not sure :o
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats! icon_thumright.gif
    Thanks for sharing the tips on the books and WSUS.
    All things are possible, only believe.