Options

Am I going to be first? 642-901

toastyhamstertoastyhamster Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
hello all,

I'm just starting day 4 of the BSCI course and I have the 901 exam booked for Tuesday - will I be the first?

Apart from IS-IS which I don't get at all, it's not too bad. I don't have any other revision material as I figure a lot of it is now out of date, although I'm tempted to buy a Boson exam. I've also got a couple of routers and a switch, so I can do a fair bit of lab practise.

I have no hands on Cisco experience, as my day to day job is Checkpoint Firewall-1, Pix and Alteon work. So we'll see how it goes.... Luckily work pay for 2 exams, 1 failure and 1 pass, so with a bit of luck I won't be forking out too much from my own pocket icon_smile.gif

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It's looking like it.... Good Luck! icon_thumright.gif

Since you won't be able to compare and contrast old exam to new.... I guess you'll just have to pass it so that everyone else doesn't get scared off by the new exam (and decide to become MCSEs instead). icon_lol.gif

I guess the best thing you could tell everyone after the exam (without violating the NDA) -- how accurate was the new exam blueprint?
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    MrDMrD Member Posts: 441
    1 of my instructor's is going to take it in the next month, supposedly...he's already CCNP, so I'll let everyone know what he thinks comparison-wise.
  • Options
    Well I failed - 688.

There were *lots* of questions on the new bits in the course, and this is where I lost most marks.

I also got hit with a lot of the testlet questions which ate up a lot of time, and although I just finished on time I rushed a few in the middle section.

Probably retake it next week, and if I fail then, I dunno, I suppose I'll have to concede that I actually do need some hands on time through work before this is feasible for me.
  • Options