Options

What would you do? ->

sharptechsharptech Member Posts: 492 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been going over this and not sure what to do.

I got called for a job interview for a position w/ the dept. of transportation for the desktop tech position taking care of all the people at the executive level. It looks like I will be offered the job.

The job however seems like a low paying job (32K)/yr. I currently make 31K per year.

Also I was told I was the only one who was interviewd for the job. The company who called me about the job are a IT recruiting company.

Currently I work as a Lead IT Tech for a university, however no room for advancement.

What would you guys do? - Go for the experience or do you think it really is not worth it considering it is only a 1k increase.

Should I wait and try for something else?

Really not sure, input appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Non-Profit TechieNon-Profit Techie Member Posts: 418 ■■□□□□□□□□
    well i would look at the benefits. i work for the board of ed in a city and i can tell you that the health benefits are worth a ton of money and i only pay about 12 bucks a week for it. not to mention the 400 a year for glasses and contacts i can spend on each family member. and all the dental that is needed for me and my family. + if there is room for advancement that would be nice. Usually city job have a step system and a raise every year. not mention the job is easy. but that can be a bad thing if you dont challenge yourself with certs and new technology.
  • Options
    The benefits I have now are the same w/ this company (great benefits), so that is not to much of an issue.
  • Options
    MetaldaveMetaldave Member Posts: 102 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you can move up in the new job then you should definetly look at it. If you are going to stay in the same position you are in now in the new one, stay where you are until something better comes up. Well, thats what I would do icon_wink.gif But each to their own.
  • Options