Options

And now it's my turn. :D

Sorry I'm not around much, but I'll be around even less for the next month as things are really hectic here.

As none of you know, I've been studying since July 2005 for my certs. I now have the MCP (w00t!), MCSE:M, and MCSE 2003.
I had decided to start looking for a job in IT once I reached the MCSE. I figured that while I waited I would continue to study for other certs (I only work on weekends, non IT related work) as my deadline for finishing is in May 2007. Not that that deadline affects me much, as I haven't gone to my training provider in nearly a year and also I had decided that their "job guarantee" was unlikely to come through, so I didn't want to rely on them.

Also I am just very effing sick and tired of the job I'm doing, and figured it was about time to leave that hellhole and put my knowledge to good use.

The problem is that I have zero official experience. Yes, I have a lab on which I've implemented and maintained all the technologies that I've studied, but you need "real" experience in order for someone to look at you twice.

So after a few weeks of... basically nothing, I decided I wouldn't wait around with my thumb up my ___. I thought I might as well work for free, gaining some experience while supporting myself by continuing to work weekends.

Anyway to make a short story shorter, last night before I sent out the app to work unpaid I got a call about a position I applied for on cwjobs; today I went for an interview and tomorrow I start! :D

It's a fantastic position in an IT solutions provider and consultancy... initially it will be mainly helpdesk, and within max one year I should go higher, with the idea of making me a consultant. Wow, and this is my first IT position!

There's also a huge amount of stuff to learn, and of course they'll take care of my exams and education. They're also nice and up-to-date, and in a few months we'll be using Vista and all the other 2007 products. The pay is also very good.