Options

Passed 70-270 with a 1000

Well, I aced the 70-270 exam today, and I have a few observations.

The test was much easier than I expected. I studied like crazy for 70-290, and I think I actually over studied for this exam - at least I certainly over-stressed. There were no simulations or drag and drops. Some people who have reported failing the 70-290 have reported that they were shocked at how much harder 70-290 was than 70-270. I can see that now - except that I took these exams in reverse order 70-290 then 70-270. I suggest this for everyone who has not taken either of these exams - there is alot of overlap, and 70-270 expects a basic knowledge of domain policy - there were several questions on my exam about how policy (local and domain) will effect end users.

Without trying to sound boastful, I really was surprised at how easy this exam turned out - especially compared to 70-290. Last weekend I did not get nearly the amount of studying in that I was hoping to and said to a coworker and instructor who have both passed the exam that I think I need to take another week to study - they both told me not to bother and just go take the test.

As far as taking the exam itself, the way I take a question on a multiple choice exam is to see if I can answer it before I look at the answer choices. If I am not sure without looking at the answer choices, then I try and eliminate the answers that I know are wrong. For 70-270, on many of the questions there really was only one possible answer. The other 3 answers were often far off the mark.

For study, I used the Microsoft Press coursebooks, exam cram 2, MS self paced training, and the exam sims, and this site. I have 12 years field experience and 4 years solid experience supporting Windows XP and almost 7 years of Windows 2000. I found that I needed the most study on automated install - including RIS, as well as USB and Bluetooth - all of which were covered on the exam.