Options

Advice for MCDBA?

MTroike24MTroike24 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a DBA trying to get my MCD BA credentials. I've attempted this test twice now, but with no joy. On the last attempt, this morning, I was sure I was going to pass. There were no doubts in my mind ... right up to the point the score was displayed.

I know I'm out of my comfort zone here. How often is a DBA consulted when you are setting up IPSec, after all...

What's the general feeling - should I try 70-290 instead or keep plugging away? My best attempt was close at 678.

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi MTroike24. What's your background and experience? Do you like working with databases?
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    70-291 is a tough exam, look at this list and see if there is another exam you could take instead.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcdba/requirements.mspx

Maybe try 70-290 instead, it is a little easier.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options
    I've been in IT for a little over 10 years. I've spent time as a developer in VB and VB .NET. I've been working with database interface and database administration for most of that time. I have Oracle OCP DBA certifications from 8.0 through 10g and I've passed both of the SQL Server 2000 exams and the VB .NET application exam. I need wither 70-291 or 70-290 to complete the MCDBA.

My problem seems to be that I'm not a network admin or anything close to it. I have a lot of experience using the network, but little administering it icon_wink.gif

70-291 covers topics that are interesting to me, but I just don't seem to be picking up the level of detail I need.

So far, I have used the Microsoft Press Training Kit for 70-291 (2nd edition), Exam Cram, Self Test software and MeasureUp.
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□