Options

Newbie - Need help lab setup for 70-270 excercises

Dev13Dev13 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just started studying for 70-270. Bought Sybex Windows XP book. Started looking at first few excercised and it talks about RIS server Domain controller Win 2000 or 2003 server.
Now i have only 1 workstation with dual boot , XP home and Win 2000 on it.

In order to complete the excercises and follow the steps do i need Win2000 CD Domain sever, DHCP server, Windows XP professional CD, PXE based boot RAM...blah blah.

How did you guys did the exercises?? Please advice

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would get either Virtual Server or Vmware Server, both of which are free. I would also register for a free copy of Windows Server 2003 Evaluation. This will allow you configure a virtual environment. I would also get an Evaluation Copy of Windows XP to virtualize.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    Dev13Dev13 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    ok, clarification. I have subscription to MSDN, so i can get all these products free including Virtual PC & Win 2003. My question was.. can just 1 workstation be used to setup all these things needed. Do i have uninstall Win xp home and Win 2000 i already have on my workstation?
    In a way i am looking for steps to setup lab. like
    (1). Get Virtual PC
    (2). Install Win 2003 server on it.
    (3). Setup Domain server
    (4). ......

Do i need to do all this ..or am i overdoing stuff?
  • Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You can use your regular workstation and keep it in tact.

Lets just say you're using Virtual Server.

1. Boot up your normal box
    2. Install Virtual Server
    3. Go into Virtual Server configuration.
    4. Create a new virtual server
    5. Create a new virtual server hard drive
    6. Link that virtual server hard drive to that specific virtual server.