Options

Outlook push technology

amyamandaallenamyamandaallen Member Posts: 316
Hi,

Trying to sort something at work that I have very little knowledge off.

We are currently running outlook web access to the outside world. Its running over the standard 443 SSL port. We have a valid SSL certificate installed/purchased. All our outside staff can access it fine via HTTPS. We can also view OWA via a PDA fine.

However !!!! icon_redface.gif

We are trying to use the PUSH technology feature in exchange to get the server to send the emails rather than us going and picking them up.

I have no idea how to really set this in motion on either the server side ( but I think were right according to MS ) but mainly the PDA side.

Any help would go a long way

PLEEEEEEEEAAAAASSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEE ( need begging icon )
Remember I.T. means In Theory ( it should works )

Comments

• Options
    malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hey,

I can't give you direct advice on setting this up in an MS environment as we use Novell Groupwise and Notifylink Server (Equivelent to MS Push/Exchange Activesync web admin server).

This link seems to explain how to set everything up from the 2003 server end to the device configuration. Down the right hand side of the article has all of the information you require.

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/solutionaccelerators/mobile/deploy/msfp_overview.mspx?pf=true

Malc
  • Options
    malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have no idea how to really set this in motion on either the server side ( but I think were right according to MS ) but mainly the PDA side.

Check out section 8 on the link above.....The device side, it appears all you should have to do is configure the network settings in ActiveSync:

"To connect a Windows Mobile 5.0-based device to an Exchange server