Options

1912C Switch - 100Base-TX Port Issues

spicc7spicc7 Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I got a 1912C switch and two 2501 routers from CiscoKits recently. So far I have had no issues with the router and the switch. On the switch I have been using the AUI port when attaching the switch to the router. The switch has a 100Base-TX and 100Base-FX port. I tried attaching the 100Base-TX port to one of the routers using a straight-through cable. The link light doesn't show that the port is connected and doing a show interface fast 0/27 confirms their is no link beat. I have ensured the port is "enabled" and not "disabled".

Other than a hardware issue with the port, I cannot figure out why it's not working. Hoping one of you pros can confirm what the issue is.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    JBeamJBeam Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Im studying for the CCNA so I don't know ALOT but, did you do "no shut" on the interface of the router? Type "show ip int brief" on your router and see if the Ethernet port is "up/up"

Also, if you have your interface enabled, its not likely but have you tried different CAT5 cable? In class we had the same problem everything was configured, ended up being a bad cable.

If this info is incorrect please correct me, I'm currently enrolled in my 3rd Semester for CCNA study. Thanks!
  • Options
    hectorjhrdzhectorjhrdz Member Posts: 127
    well, if the switch doesn't detect the link the problem could be located at the router (if your switch isn't broken).

- cable is good? is it well made?
    - does your tranceiver work well?
    - have you already set the right parameters on the router's ethernet interface?
    -
    - have you made any configuration change on your sw?

obviously i wanna think thet you alreday perform the no shut command on the router's int.
  • Options
    Thanks guys,

I did the "no shut" on the port.