Options

Wireless job need some help

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
hey everybody

I'm quite new to the whole 802.11 scene and need a few pointers

I am going out on a external job next week for a customer. I am going to be testing if a 802.11 would be a beeficial for the client.

The customer currently has a wireless router and a Hp Pavillion laptop equipped with a wireless card. this is situated on the ground floor.

He wants a computer to be situated in the third floor of the building which we will build for him.

The reaspn for me visiting him is I have to setup the laptop to communicate with the router then to take it up to the third floor and see how strong the signal strength is.

Now being new to the whole wireless lark can somebody step by step guide me how the hell do I get the laptop to communicate with the router?

I'm using windows Xp for this

Many Thanks

Ally
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    mrhaun03mrhaun03 Member Posts: 359
    Use the wireless NIC's software to scan for available networks. You should pick up something provided the SSID is being broacasted. If you pick up multiple networks, you'll need to know the name of his Access Point. Click on the AP and hit Connect. The software varies but it's pretty straight forward. You'll need to talk with the client to see if any type of security is setup ie WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc...if it is then you'll need to setup of the wireless profile accordingly to be able to connect to this AP. If there is no security, I highly recommend you set it up. I recommend not using WEP...go for WPA2 is the hardware supports it.
    Working on Linux+
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,045 Admin