Options

Career Change

PsychobastardPsychobastard Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been doing testing off & on since 1998\99. I ended up in Test by accident while trying to get into an IT position, any IT position. I've been trying to make the transition ever since. I picked up my A+ a year ago. I still only get contacts for testing. Now I'm studying for the MCDST. I was looking at the CCNA but the MCPP seemed a more logical choice for what I'm right now; entry level. IT. I may grab the Network+ immediately after the MCDST just to get an intro networking cert.

Right now I think I may have too much material to study. I've got both the MS Press & Exam Cram 271 & 272 manuals, Inside Windows XP (additional XP info) and have order Bill Ferguson's CDROM set for the 271\272 tests. I'm also planning on buying the Sybex hard cover.
Benjamin Franklin described insanity as performing the same action over and over, expecting a different result. We do that every day. We're software testers.

Comments

• Options
    NPA24NPA24 Member Posts: 588 ■■□□□□□□□□
    That's about as much stuff I usually get when I'm ready to tackle a test. Using various sources is good because in my experience one book alone will not cover everything in the exam even though the authors say it does. Trust me...i've learned it the hard way. Another suggestion is do a lots of practice questions. And the ones that you do get wrong, research the heck out of it and see why the answer is what it is. This will help develop the skills necessary to pass the test.

Good luck in your exams!
  • Options
    PsychobastardPsychobastard Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks. There's no such thing as an All-In-One. Filling in the various gaps in material as well as getting a visual (important for me) from the CDbased stuff should work out well.
    Benjamin Franklin described insanity as performing the same action over and over, expecting a different result. We do that every day. We're software testers.
  • Options