Options

What's the best way to do this?

mog27mog27 Member Posts: 302
I'm studying use the MS Press book (through chapter 2). I have the evaluation CD on a Dell P4 machine but I want to instead use it on an Athlon machine and put something else on the Dell. Usually just imaging it and moving to another architecture doesn't work. Anyone have any suggestions or will I have to start it all from scratch? And will my license work again? The exercises in the book go in order so I would have to readd everything to AD, etc if I started from scratch.
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Ben Franklin

"The internet is a great way to get on the net." --Bob Dole

Comments

• Options
    plettnerplettner Member Posts: 197
    There is specilaised imaging software which allows you to scan for the required drivers when you restore to another computer with different hardware. I have a product call Acronis True Image 9.1 Worksation with Universal Restore. However, I've never had it successfuly pick up drivers between Intel platforms let alone from Intel to AMD.

If you have activated Win Server 2003 on your Dell and you do a new install on the AMD, it will not allow anotyher activation. It will say you have actoivated the product before.

You have two options:
    1 - Ring the number the wizard gives and tell them you've upgraded to a new platform. They (Microsoft) will give you a new product key over the phone.

2 - Log onto www.microsoft.com and find a trial version fo Server 2003 with SP2. They'll e-mail a key and instrcutions on download. Obviosuly, you don;t need to download the whole product. Just wait for the key to arrive and use this.

I was in the same boat as you are and this is what I did.
  • Options
    mog27mog27 Member Posts: 302
    I have Acronis True Image and I am having the darndest time finding the Acronis Universal Restore extra. Where can you download it from?