Options

Server Discs

billybob01billybob01 Member Posts: 504
I have a dell poweredge 2800 server that someone has configured and installed the O/S on. Now without sounding stupid i have never worked with hardware Raid before and need to read up on it. I know there are 6 hdd`s and in the Disk Management all you can see is 2 drives. 1 with the O/S and another about 400GB in size. Now i need to install some software but i want to partition the drive up. Can i treat this drive as if it were a software raid or do i have to treat it differently.

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    billybob01 wrote:
    Can i treat this drive as if it were a software raid or do i have to treat it differently.
    You can treat it (the 400 GB I assume you want to partition) as a single physical disk, as that is how the OS perceives it.

It sounds like the OS is installed on a single disk, and the other 5 disks are configured in a single RAID 5 set. Or 2 as a RAID 1 (mirror) for the OS and 4 as a RAID set. You could figure that out simply by looking at the disk sizes and resulting volume sizes of the raid set. For example, if each disk is 100GB, one could be the OS, 5 could be configured in a RAID 5 of 400GB (you basically lose the size equal to 1 disk when you create a RAID 5 set, hence a minimum of 3 disks are required).
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    On the Programs Menu, you should be able to find a utility called Array Manager. That will tell you how your drives are configured.

Since the system uses hardware RAID, windows only thinks there are two physical drives installed. If there is nothing on the second drive, you can delete the partition and multiple partitions on the drive. If there is data that keeps you from deleting, then you can use a tool to repartition.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□