Case sensitive

rjb37rjb37 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi
I am studying for the 70-270 exam and I came across a practice question for a FQDN that had several parts to it, e.g. 1st and 2nd level along with the top domain and the rest.
Portions of this had capitals and the question was which parts were case sensitive. I got it wrong becasue I assumed that it was not case sensitive. According to the author it is.
I have not been able to find any references to this being case sensitive. Anyone out there seen this before. All the IT guys at work here have never heard of this.

Comments

• royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    DNZ zones/domain names are not case sensitive. Try going to WwW.goOgLe.CoM. It'll work just fine.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • jasonbochejasonboche Member Posts: 167
    Internet URLs used to be case sensitive in the old days. Not so much any more though. I haven't seen it in 5 or more years.
    VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
  • sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Can you reference the book and page #? Maybe there's more to it than meets the eye. Otherwise you may want to provide feedback to the publisher so it can corrected in an addendum/eratta or future edition.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • rkholmesrkholmes Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Greetings,

Apache on UNIX/Linux is case sensitive with the files it serves unless you have the Apache module called mod speling installed (yes I spelled the module name right..the author must have a sense of humor).

So unless the afore mentioned Apache module is installed

http://www.example.com/SoMeFiLe.html

would generate a 404 unless a file of that exact name and case was located within the directory specified to hold the content (usually /apache/htdocs OR /www/data).