Options

1st CCIE lab attempt blog and help for candidates.

1707172737476»

Comments

• Options
    gbadmangbadman Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Turgon wrote: »
    It's strategic more than operational. That brings with it choices to ponder very carefully indeed. Very demanding and not something any of my certifications help me with really. Decisions are needed and leadership, but if I take us in the wrong direction it will cost us.

Still, doing the CCIE keeps me current and able to keep up with our full time network designers. Im a network designer of 7 years standing now retired :)

I find it slightly depressing when you say your certifications do nothing whatsoever to prepare you for that role. You're in the kind of position I fantasise about getting into one day, and I'm pretty certain I'm not alone on here in that. And you've had the sort of journey many seek to emulate.

We start our careers with pretty basic technical knowledge, then we advance into positions of increasing technical sophistication. When hopefully the apogee of this technical odyssey is reached - CCIE level knowledge - we perhaps then hope to advance upwards into positions of increasing strategic responsibility (with a reduction in technical focus). I would hope though that the technical expertise we hold at that point would not be an irrelevance. If that is the case, then it means we're doomed to be locked into a status quo in which business admins who haven't gone through a tenth of the toil that we have end up lording it over us and dictating engineering strategy.

I would imagine that in your strategy meetings with the designers, you're able to intelligently argue about solutions, and so arrive at an optimum direction. Sure, you make the point that a non-technical director could play the presidential role and decide the best direction based on the arguments presented, but I do believe that the decision process of a director with technical insight would be superior.