I am a newbie..

KishoreKumarKishoreKumar Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi.. every one.

I am a complete newbie.
I am from a rural place in india.
net browsing is my hobby.
during which i found about cisco certifications.
so, i also got interest and decided give CCNA & CCNP.

I decided before passing my BTECH i should be a CCNP.(i am in 3rd year now. 2 more years to go)

but i have few doubts???

1. does this CCNA & CCNP certifications are that valuable??
I am very much afraid of examination fee for these exams.
150$ for CCNA.
800$ (200*4) for CCNP.
total 950$ which is 5 months full salary of my dad.
first thing is some how i have to make money for these exams. and for extra money for study material.
my point is we are investing so much just to give exam. is cisco certifications that valuable???
what salary can i expect if i am a CCNP(no other certifications)???

2. I have gone through this forum. in many posts i noticed that even a CCNP is a an expert in just ROUTERS & SWITCHES.(hubs,etc..etc..).
after so much of preparation and hardships and investment. just we'll be an expert in few hardware devices!!!!
does any company offer me a good job??

3. among me and my friends i decided to write exam even after so many hurdles for me. but can any one say how will i be different from my friends who will be earning very good(40,000 - 50,000 rs per month)???

Comments

• -prophet--prophet- Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'll go for question number two :)

Just remember you will be learning A LOT of theory about the networking field, not just how to use the Cisco CLI. This theory knowledge will give you a very strong base for other non-cisco hardware.

In regards to job prospects, the cert may get you through the door, although, to back up your cert with real knowledge and the ability to show it will get you the job.

Cisco is the number one network certification provider, you won't be sorry.

Cheers and good luck,
    -prophet-