Options

BIND-DNS

After having just finished the Exam Cram book, I got a little "conflicting" information. While all sources agree that BIND 8.1.2 support Dynamic Updates, the Exam Cram book basically states that it does not work well with Win2K and the issue was resolved with 8.2....

So, if by chance I end up with a scenario that uses 8.1.2 and asks about Dynamic Updates, how shall I go about it?

Comments

• Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I looked through two books that I have.

Windows 2000 Server Architecture and Planning by Coriolis says that both 8.2 and 8.1.2 support SRV records and DDNS. 8.2 also supports incremental zone transfers.

To make things more confusing the Passport for 216, lists that version 8.2.1 is required. That may be a typo.

It has been a couple of years since I studied for 217/219, but I believe 8.1.2 would be the right answer, but I would try to find some more sources.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Options
    Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157
    Cool, thanks!

Now that you mention it, I didn't even really think about digging out my 216/217 books and double checking them. I will do that.
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think one difference between 8.1 and 8.2 was the fast zone transfer support due to 8.1 not supporting compression.... Not positive though, just tossing it out there.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    sprkymrk wrote:
    I think one difference between 8.1 and 8.2 was the fast zone transfer support due to 8.1 not supporting compression.... Not positive though, just tossing it out there.