Hosting a email server using exchange or linux at home?

taktsoitaktsoi Member Posts: 224
HI:
Does anyone have a live working email server hosting at home? What connection do you have? DSL or cable? Dynamic ip or static? Exchange server or linux?

I am planning to have a email server installed on my cable internet connection 8mb down/ 384kb up dynamic ip using exchange server 2003. Does anybody have a good experience to avoid any conflict with your ISP's TOS?
mean people SUCK !!! BACK OFF !!!
The Next Stop is, MCSE 2003 and CCNA.
Bachelors of Technology in 1 More Year.

-Working on CCENT. Thank you my love <3

Comments

• oldbarneyoldbarney Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Here's my experience. Your mileage may vary.

When I was a sys admin for a small project management firm, as in 100 employees, we hosted two web/mail servers on a business-class DSL line. The line included 5 static IP addys, and a very liberal TOS. We received zero complaints from the ISP over a 3-year period. In fact, advertising for the DSL service included wording to the effect of "host your own websites and mail servers". For what it's worth, our primary mail server was on a shared T-1. The web/mail servers on the DSL line experienced a low volume of traffic, and were used mainly for other parts of the firm that required a separate, virtual identity. All ran linux/sendmail, by the way, and the hardware used for these servers was comprised of hand-me-down workstations with slow processors. But the concept worked very well, and I maintained about 99.8% uptime. Most of my downtime came as a result of the ISP rather than the old equipment.

An acquaintance in the NOC at the local cable ISP told me that he knows some users, who are not "business customers", run servers on the network. If traffic reaches a certain limit, then they step in with usually a warning. I've briefly ran an Exchange server on my home connection without any issues.