Options

NEED CAREER/CERT ADVISE!

REID8968REID8968 Member Posts: 98 ■■□□□□□□□□
HI EVERYONE! I'D LOVE TO GET YOUR THOUGHTS, ON WHAT MY NEXT STEP SHOULD BE. I AM CURRENTLY STUDYING FOR NET + CERT, AND HOPE TO PASS THE TEST WITHIN 2-3 WEEKS. I AM NOT SURE WHAT SHOULD BE MY NEXT CERT STEP, SO I THOUGHT IF I TOLD U MY PREVIOUS/CURRENT EXPERIENCE, YOU MIGHT HAVE SOME VALUABLE INPUT.

I WAS A CERTIFIED NOVELL ADMIN-ALL VERSIONS THROUGH 4.1. I WORK AS AN IT COORDINATOR, WHERE I HELP TROUBLESHOOT OUTAGES, PROVIDE USER SUPPORT, AND COORDINATE PROJECT EXPANSIONS/UPGRADES. I ALSO HAVE EXPERIENCE IN ACCOUNTING, ALMOST DONE WITH MY AS IN ACCOUNTING. (I JUST NEED SOME GENERAL CREDITS IN MATH TO FINISH.) THE JOB I DO NOW IS MOSTLY DONE WITH CISCO SWITCHES, ROUTERS... I HAVE ACCESS TO CCNE/MCSE TO HELP TROUBLESHOOT PROBLEMS. SERVER ISSUES ARE HANDLED REMOTELY.

I AM INTERESTED IN PROJECT IMPLEMENTATION, AND WOULD LOVE TO BE A PROJECT COORDINATOR FOR NETWORK INSTALLS. I HAVE BEEN SCANNING JOB ADS, AND DON'T REALLY SEE WHAT CERTS THEY WANT. I AM LIMITED BY BACK/NECK PROBLEMS TO PERFORM THE PHYSICAL INSTALLS.

ADVISE? THOUGHTS?

Comments

• Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    First piece of advice, don't post in all caps. It is annoying and equal to shouting.

CompTIA has the Project+ which would be entry level project management. The more advanced cert is the PMP. Microsoft is working on a new series of certs that work with the MS Office Project application and server.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since you have experience with Cisco and Microsoft you could start off with CCNA and/or MCSA. Get your A+ first then if you decide to go the MCSA/MCSE route you can count A+/Net+ towards your MCSA 2003.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options