Options

Job Opportunity

MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
Because you all are the only legitimate people on the internet posting in forums, I would like to ask people's opinions. (slashdot posts are sometimes fun to read)

I currently work for a state job that I have to travel 50 miles a day and it is 50 minutes away. It pays 45k and I get every other Friday off (big perk). I'm a network administrator there and I am able to work on Windows, Linux, and Cisco. I enjoy the products I am able to work on but I dislike the fact that I have to do a lot of helpdesk like responsibilities... Like I have to answer helpdesk calls sometimes, fix people's dumb problems, make accounts, etc... There is a lot of weird drama but it is a good job... I wouldn't leave unless there was a better opportunity. I've only been here for like 3 months.

Well I have been offered and interview with a company that I bartered a minimum salary of 70k. This is a big company (55k people VS the 300 person company that I currently work at) and they are located in the city I live in. They want a windows administrator to administer their domain and servers at this branch location. I don't like the fact that it sounds like I have to only do windows work because I like multiple operating systems but Windows is good enough I suppose.

What do you guys think?

The company is Marsh and McLennan if anyone has any opinions on this company... And does anyone know a good company employee opinion site?
My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It won't hurt to go to the interview and at least try to make your best impression. At worst, you won't want or get the job. At best, you will get a big raise and short drive. While you are at the interview, they will ask if you have any questions. At that point you can find out if there are any Cisco routers/switches or linux boxes on site.

Good luck!