Options

New...

Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
Hey everyone,

So I am new to the Microsoft set of exams/training, just wanted to introduce myself. I have already completed my A+, Net+ and CCNA. I've only been working with computers for about two years now. A year working on computers/SOHO networks with the Geek Squad and a year as a help desk analyst for a large bank. I also have an associates degree in computer science from a local community college.

So, I think I am ready to take on the Microsoft training/exams. I have decided to use the book "Installing, Configuring and Administering Microsoft Windows XP Processional Self paced training kit" (SP2). I found a copy for like $9.99 at a local used book store.

I set a goal to get the MCP 70-270 by the end of the year (and of course, run all labs). Does this seem reasonable given my background? I was also given a Sybex book for MCP 70-270 that does not even cover SP1 and talks about the "upcoming Windows .Net server". Should I even waste my time with that book?

So far I finished chapter 1 and 2 in the Microsoft book. And, I am right in saying the material is less memorization that Comptia test and more situation style questions?

Any other materials I should get? So any input?
-Daniel

Comments

• Options
    matradleymatradley Member Posts: 549
    Daniel333 wrote:
    Hey everyone,

So I am new to the Microsoft set of exams/training, just wanted to introduce myself. I have already completed my A+, Net+ and CCNA. I've only been working with computers for about two years now. A year working on computers/SOHO networks with the Geek Squad and a year as a help desk analyst for a large bank. I also have an associates degree in computer science from a local community college.