Options

RAID

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi guys I am in the process of experimenting with RAID and I wish to pick your brains in a attempt to gain some knowledge from you good people.

Baring in mind I'm kinda new to looking at servers ( hardware wise ) and I'm a bit lost to be honest as to how I go about things.

I'm looking at a Power Edge 2300 as a means of experimentation currently situated inside the machine is a PCI IDE controller and and SCSI Backplane ( I think that's what it's called) it's a card located at the front of the machine with SCSI connections allowing you to connect SCSI drives. As there is a warning sticker on the case I would presume Hot Swapping drives isn't supported.

Now onto the subject of RAID firstly I'm looking at RAID level 1 first just to get to grips with the whole concept. I have access to numerous hardware because I work for a charity in which we get computers donated to us so I currently have a few moderately sized SCSI drives.

So I have decided to use 2 drives and wish to get them to duplex or mirror ( RAID Level 1)

Questions for you guys

1) Do I require a RAID controller card to connect to the SCSI Backplane as i'm confused.
2) If i'm using 2 SCSI Drives do I need to do anything with Jumpers.
3) Ok I have plugged in the Drives now what?
4) Hardware or Software RAID what is the difference and what is the easiest.
5) Setting up Raid in Ubuntu Server is it easy and has anybody done it before?

I appreciate your time for looking at this and helping me shed a little light on this subject once again thank you guys!

[/u]
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    supertechCETmasupertechCETma Member Posts: 377
    Electronic Technicians Association-International www.eta-i.org
    The Fiber Optic Association www.thefoa.org
    Home Acoustics Alliance® http://www.homeacoustics.net/
    Imaging Science Foundation http://www.imagingscience.com/