Options

Variable Length Subnet Masks Help.

SmoothieSmoothie Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I am currently studying for my CCNA, and am reading the SYbex book. I am reading the chapter on Subnetting, and have reached the topic of Variable Length Subnet Masks (VLSMs). I am really lost on this topic. Does anyone know of a good resource to learn about this? Better yet, has anyone ever had a test question on this topic?

Any help, greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.......

Comments

• Options
    viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
    icon_confused.gif VLSM's is a tough topic on the CCNA. I just finished my Semester 3 on the Cisco Academy Program and I myself had trouble on that area icon_confused.gif . My final had a few questions on VLSM's. I can't remember off the top of my head what they were, but when I do remember I will post them up :) . From what I hear from my Prof. and from the reading I've done Cisco wants you to know that topic very well. One of my weak areas along with Subnetting icon_mad.gif
    CCNP Security - DONE!
    CCNP R&S - In Progress...
    CCIE Security - Future...
  • Options
    viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Here...

1)Which interior routing protocols support VLSM? (Choose three.)

1-OSPF

2-RIP v1

3-RIP v2

4-EIGRP

5-BGP

6-IGRP

2)Which of the following problems does VLSM help to alleviate?

1-the shortage of IP addresses
    2-the difficulty of assigning static IP addresses to hosts in large enterprises
    3-the complexity of implementing advanced routing protocols such as OSPF and EIGRP
    4-the shortage of network administrators qualified in the use of RIP v1 and IGRP

3) What does VLSM allow a network administrator to do?

1-utilize one subnet mask throughout an autonomous system
    2-utilize multiple subnet masks in the same IP address space
    3-utilize IGRP as the routing protocol in an entire autonomous system
    4-utilize multiple routing protocols within an autonomous system