Options

CCNA passed!

jncarterjncarter Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well I finally got there. I passed the CCNA 640-801 today. It seems everyone always wants to know how people prepared so here is my 2 cents. First a quick thank you to everyone else who has shared their experiences, as it was a great help to me.

I started studying about 8 weeks ago. I purchased Wendell Odom's 2 book set and read both front to back (probably a couple of times by time it was done). I also purchased 2- 2610, 1- 1720, and 1-2924. I would have liked a couple more switches but I had already spent a small chunk of change.

Now for a bit about my background. I am the enterprise architect for a local government. So I deal with networking A LOT. There were two big challenges for me. The first is that we are a Procurve shop. Secondly we have private fiber out the wazoo(yes I am a bit spolied!) so it has been a while since doing anything with p2p connections, with exception of our voice pri's.

So that is my two cents. Now it is time to take a short break for a month or so and start moving on. I am thinking CCDA and MCSE, I am just not sure which will be first yet.

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats! icon_cool.gif

Come to the dark side jncarter! Bill Gates wants you to experience the power of the MCSE!

icon_lol.gif
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    ManglianManglian Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congratulations man, well done. What else did you use for simulations ?
  • Options
    mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749
    Nicely done, sir.
    There are only 10 kinds of people... those who understand binary, and those that don't.

CCIE Studies: Written passed: Jan 21/12 Lab Prep: Hours reading: 385. Hours labbing: 110

Taking a time-out to add the CCVP. Capitalizing on a current IPT pilot project.
  • Options