Options

MCP or MSCA or MSCE?

abclukeabcluke Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All, I am studying for Network+ and hope to take and pass it in a month. I have A+ too.

Now I would want to get a MS certification after, not sure which one to go for though? I heard the MSCA, i can use electives from network+ and A+.

Which do you recommened?
Any comments or suggestions would be very helpful!

Comments

• Options
    mikiemovmikiemov Member Posts: 182
    Yep I think that exam can count towards MCSA. Personally I'd shoot for MCSA and then once you have it..consider MCSE..after all its only 3 more exams...
    A woman drove me to drink, and I didnt have the decency to thank her.
  • Options
    GhentGhent Member Posts: 310
    From my understanding of MS exams, you should obtain all 3 on the way to MCSE. MCP means you've passed one MS exam, then they give you MCSA after a couple more, and then finally after several of them your MCSE. So if your heading down the Microsoft path, just set MCSE as your goal, and consider the other 2 as rewards along the way.
    Prais'd be the fathomless universe, for life and joy, and for objects and knowledge curious.' Whalt Whitman
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You get an MCP if you pass any MS exam. Sometimes there are exams that don't, but I think all the current exams do.

The A+ & Net+ will count as an elective for the MCSA, but not the MCSE.

If you are following the 2003 track you will obtain the MCSA on your way to the MCSE.

If you are following the 200 track, depending on the exams you pick, you can get the MCSA on the way to MCSE.

take a look at www.microsoft.com/traincert
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Options
    cool, thanks for the advise, will aim for MCSA using electives, but will be aiming for the MCSE.

If I pass my network+ soon, do you think this would be a good buy to start me off towards my MCSE: