Help with starting 70-210

KDSKDS Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I am new to certs but have IT degree and been working in IT for few years now.

I thought i would start off with an MCP 70-210. Then maybe move on to MCSA and MCSE.

Any suggestions on the cheapest way to study for this exam? Can i do it with a book only, some practise exams and access to W2k.

Any suggestions on a book to cover all the topics required. Would either the Microsoft Press book or Mike Meyers book be sufficient as a study tool on its own. Supplemented with some of the notes from this site.
Are the practise exams in the Microsoft book enough or do i need to look elsewhere.

Thanks for any help

Keith

Comments

• Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    If you're looking at MCSA/E, check here for the requirements of each cert.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/default.asp

I used Mike Myers for A+, and for Net+, I don't how he is on M$ subjects, but I liked his books a lot. I've heard M$ Press is very good as well.
    If you feel you're proficient with Win2K already, you should be able to pick up a book and pass with some good study time. I felt 210 was pretty basic, I studied for a few months with a class and passed 210. I've yet to take 215, so I can't say much about that it.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    M$ Press books are written to be studied along with hands-on equipment.
    They all state that you should have at least 2 PCs networked together and one needs some version of W2k Server. 120 day trial versions work fine and they come with the books along with some exam simulation on the accompanying CD. I believe that they are a excellent resource.

You'll find fair prices and latest editions here.

http://www.bookpool.com/.x/q92gxzrh2r/sl?su=ct&Go.x=15&Go.y=4