Options

remote desktop with server 2003

sdeyoungsdeyoung Member Posts: 109 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I've been using remote desktop for a while now with XP. I'm fairly new to Server 2003 and I'm trying to setup remote desktop. Right now I have two xp machines, one server 2003 machine (just playing around with this one) and I'm trying to get my XP machines to connect to the server 2003 using remote desktop. I've enabled the remote desktop and added the users but can't get connected. I've set it up tons of times on my xp setup with no problems. Is there something i'm missing? Do I have to have all Pc's on the same domain? Right now my two xp machines are setup as a workgroup and my server 2003 is a domain. I've even tried changing one of my xp pc's to the same domain that my server 2003 is on and it still won't connect. Getting an invalid ip or computer might be to busy or something like that.. I can ping the server 2003 domain no problem. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    NetstudentNetstudent Member Posts: 1,693 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You do have terminal services started on the machines right?
    There is no place like 127.0.0.1 BUT 209.62.5.3 is my 127.0.0.1 away from 127.0.0.1!
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Firewall?
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Download nmap for windows and port scan your server to see if port 3389 is open.

nmap for windows is a great troubleshooting tool (another use for it is to find a machine that doesn't respond to ICMP)
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • Options
    I know that the firewall is turned off.. That's the first thing I checked. Terminal services I will check on, is that something that's turned off by default in 2003? Didn't have to enable it in XP. And I will also get nmap and check that port.. Thanks alot guys, will keep ya updated to see if it works
  • Options