Options

Should I take this exam?

Training DazeTraining Daze Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
First off...AWESOME website! I am indebted to the creators, moderators and members of this site for posting and sharing so much useful information.

I am a college student and have no background in this field. I crammed for both the A+ and Net+ earlier this year and passed both on my first attempt...and now Sec+ is soo tempting to take as my final compTIA cert. I am really nervous though b/c this test is scored 100-900 points and I would need a 764 to pass....so with my broken math skills that means I need to get about 85 out of the 100 questions correct to pass this thing. This is intimidating b/c I have struggled to get the $220 to take this (i.e. broke college student).

I guess to sum it up I really want to take this but am 2nd guessing spending so much on such a high fail rated exam. Perhaps it would be better just to move on to 70-270 and take advantage of the cheaper price tag and 2nd chance offer Microsoft is doing until the end of Jan. 08.

For prep work I've spent the past 2 months memorizing the sybex and most of the syngress books (syngress was really long and boring). Also the technotes on this site have been a huuuuge help. I went through the exam cram book at borders and got an 86% on the practice test....guess I am just nervous...I'll update this if I do take this exam and tell you all how it went.

Sorry for rambling ...great site again! I can't imagine how lost I would have been without it!

Greg

Comments

• Options
    spree610spree610 Member Posts: 57 ■■■□□□□□□□
    this is an excellent entry cert. it especially makes you more marketable due to the growning requirement for IT security. Even the DoD requires that all IT administrators be security certified and this cert meets their requirement. Will this get you that 60-70k Job? probably not but it is a great start.
    "The secrecy of my job prevents me from knowing just what it is that I do."