Need a bit of advice..

johnw02johnw02 Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm not sure if I should keep pursuing my MCSA or put it on hold and start preparing for the CCNA. I'm a Junior student majoring Network Management and I've taken 6 classes so far that involve Cisco hands-on labs. We have been using Cisco Press books in these classes, and the lab is available to me whenever I need it. For this reason, the CCNA seems like the most logical choice. I'm also on a limited income right now, so I would rather take the single exam, but is that a good decision? Should I prepare with anything else besides the Cisco Press books and the school lab?

Any advice is appreciated!

Comments

• dax_kundax_kun Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    CCNA is better than MS, its just that you might encounter some problems that a MCSA would know. I was in the same situation as you before but decided to finish MCSA instead because my work deals more on it. I'm one test away in finishing it now. In my opinion, assess which one would help you more in your chosen field. You can also take the other one once you have finished whats important. Having a lab would definitely help you a lot in passing the exam. Also, practice, practice and practice makes perfect :D
  • remyforbes777remyforbes777 Member Posts: 499
    I think it really depends on what you want to specialize in. Do you want to do more windows administration work or more networking things. I would say do a primary and secondary. If you like networking more focus most of your time to Cisco certs and then do Microsoft things on the side. For instance, 5 days a week study Cisco, 2 days or even 1 day study Microsoft, then when you accomplish getting your Cisco cert shift the Microsoft to your primary then make another thing your secondary such as learning Linux. That way you become more well rounded.
  • iowatechiowatech Member Posts: 120