Options

How much have the routing & switching exams changed?

Julie JonesJulie Jones Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Background: I work in the industry and have for eight years. I took all the CCNP exams in 2002-2003 approx. My CCNP expired in 2006. I have access to various production networks, as well as a good lab, at work.

I have excellent notes for the Routing and Switching exams... that are at least 5 years old, LOL.
I will obviously have to consult the current recommended books as well as my notes, but how much has the material really changed? How much harder are the exams? I found Routing tough enough the last time... I did pass first try, but barely. It sounds like the current Routing exam is killer.

The new exams, do they correspond at all to the old Remote Access and CIT? Is there any exam that is somewhat easier than the others, in the way the CIT was... for those of us in the industry who do those show commands all day long anyway, it by far the easiest exam.

Comments

• Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Hi Julle,

I would say if you still have your notes you should be fine really. You will need to brush up on things and make sure you are current with the latest CCNP blueprint. It might be an idea for you to try out some of the latest CCNP practice tests from Boson etc to see where you are at and get an overview of the latest topics. You did the CCNP before and have experience, put the hours in on the study front and it shouldn't take you long to clear the CCNP again. You will need CCNA if that has expired.

PM me for more advice if you wish.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    When the last changes to the CCNP happened, I think Cisco said the BSCI and BCMSN were about 25% new material -- but when you compare the CCNP Exam Blueprints, it doesn't really look like that much had changed.

642-801 BSCI vs 642-901 BSCI
    Added Multicast and IPv6.

642-811 BCMSN vs 642-812 BCMSN