Options

Exchange 2007 Increase Size Limit for Emails

dpsdps Member Posts: 116
Hi everyone,

I'm sending a mail with a 20Mb attachment and I get a "message being sent exceeds the message size established for this user" in Outlook.

How can I increase the mail size limit in Exchange? I used the "set-transportconfig" command and increased the send and receive limit to 25MB but it didn't work.

What am i doing wrong here? icon_confused.gif:

TIA.
Focused and Steady.

Comments

• Options
    j938j938 Member Posts: 101
    dps wrote:
    Hi everyone,

I'm sending a mail with a 20Mb attachment and I get a "message being sent exceeds the message size established for this user" in Outlook.

How can I increase the mail size limit in Exchange? I used the "set-transportconfig" command and increased the send and receive limit to 25MB but it didn't work.

What am i doing wrong here? icon_confused.gif:

TIA.

well im no expert but i dont think exchange server 2003 is too much different from 2007 so you can access AD and go to your profile right click go to properties i believe then go to the tab exchange general and then go to deliery restrictions and set the message size you want for sending message size
    You should be able to do this on AD on exchange server as well. but I havent seen 2007.
    Growth is limited.
  • Options
    CorySCoryS Member Posts: 208
    Have you restarted the store yet by chance? I assume you used the EMS command

Set-transportconfig -MaxSendSize: <size here in KB>

... like I said though, you have to restart the store service to see it change immedialetly.
    MCSE tests left: 294, 297 |
  • Options
    I didnt fully read just like Corys said did you do it like so
    set-transportconfig -MaxSendSize:25Mb
    Growth is limited.
  • Options
    also id you didnt enter mb at the end i think it will treat it as KB
    Growth is limited.
  • Options
    CoryS wrote:
    Have you restarted the store yet by chance? I assume you used the EMS command