Options

Be careful what you wish for!

SrAtechieSrAtechie Member Posts: 150 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

Well, as the subject line states, be careful what you wish for. I've been a Windows Systems Administrator at my current job for a year but spend most of the time shadowing the net admins. It's what I eventually want to do, and they needed the help so it was a happy arrangement. Of course, it got to a point where I began to covet their positions and for the past 6 months I've been bugging my supervisor to move me into a network position. Well, that day has arrived. There's a position opening up in 4 months and he is giving me the chance to have first whack at applying. His only requirement? CCNA in 3 1/2 months.
Now, my networking experience so far has been physical layer stuff (making cables, running 'em through trays, installing trays where they're missing, etc.) with pretty much the only interaction with switches and routers being setting them up in the rack, and plugging in the cables. I've also been reading up on CCNA, having gone through the Cisco Press books and about half way through the Bryant CCNA material but haven't really had much time to play with actual physical switches and routers (I have a 2950 switch on my desk along with a pair of 2610 routers waiting to be used and abused though).
So my question to you, fellow techexam denizens, is do you think the materials and equipment I have on hand will suffice for my educational goal and time frame? Also, does anyone know of a good Bootcamp provider? I'd like to hedge my bet by going to a boot camp sometime before the deadline just so I can really bring all the information together. I'm looking for one of those bootcamps where you either live on campus or in a hotel nearby so I can get away from the daily troubles of life and just live, eat and breathe cisco. Price right now is not a major factor as the pay increase for the move will more than likely pay for the bootcamp. Appreciate all the advice you can give!